Skip Navigation

XTERRA Grabouw Doubles Up As ITU Cross Tri World Championships Selection Race

Press Release / Photo : Tobias Ginsberg / 29.01.2019

Bradley Weiss


Taking place at the Elgin Grabouw Country Club on Sunday, 24 February 2019 the XTERRA Grabouw (Full Race) will serve as a selection race for the 2019 ITU Cross Tri World Championships in Pontevedra, Spain.

The largest XTERRA in the world, the XTERRA Grabouw Lite (taking place on Saturday, 23 February 2019) features a 400m swim, a +-14km MTB and a +-6.5km Trail Run while the XTERRA Grabouw Full (taking place on Sunday, 24 February 2019) features a 1.5km Swim, a +-25.6km MTB and a +-12.4km Trail Run.

“XTERRA Grabouw boasts a high standard of national competition and a high standard of event presentation,” says Jan Sterk, Vice President Triathlon South Africa (TSA).  “In order to be considered for the SA team athletes must be fully licensed with TSA before race day.  The team will be selected and announced within a week of the event taking place.  Qualification categories will include Elite, all Age Group and Para Tri categories.  The results will be released straight after the events, before prize giving which takes place after cut-off of the races.

[If you enjoyed this story and would like SleepMonsters to continue reporting on Adventure Racing then we need your help. Please support our Patreon campaign or make a donation via PayPal.]

More About This Event

Friends Team Up For XTERRA Grabouw

Friends Team Up For XTERRA Grabouw
Taking place at the Elgin Grabouw Country Club on Saturday, 23 and Sunday, 24 February 2019, XTERRA South Africa has an exciting Read More

Reporting On

Support Adventure Racing

SleepMonsters Patreon

ITERA Expedition Race


like us on facebook

Our Patrons

Rootstock Racing


SleepMonsters Patreon

Thank you to all our

adventure racing


Rootstock Racing

Tanz Navigation

-- -- --

Brian Gatens

-- -- --

Adventure Enablers

Chipp Dodd

David Ellis

Erik Sanders

Fiona McBryde

Graham Bird

Jakub Malik

Strong Machine AR

-- -- --

Barbara Campbell

Klaus Mygind

Marco Ponteri

Rob Horton